Tips-N-Tricks: How to Delete Extra Profiles on Facebook, Twitter & LinkedIn

Do you have multiple profiles on Facebook, LinkedIn or Twitter? I am often asked how to delete the extra profile, so this post will walk you through how to get rid of the extra/unwanted profiles you may have. LinkedIn - Log in to your unwanted account. First make note of any connections that you will want to re-establish with the profile you are keeping. Yes, you will have to re-connect with each one, but it is a small price to pay to delete the extra profile.

Next, click on Accounts & Settings (top right of your screen). Under personal information (right hand column), click on close account. Then, select the reason you want to close your account and click continue. Continue to follow the prompts to close the extra account.

Facebook - Log in to the facebook profile you would like to delete. Make sure you keep track of friends you want to invite to your permanent profile, you will need to send new friend requests to move them over.  Next, click on settings and then scroll to the bottom of the page. The last option is deactivate account, click. Select the reason why you are deactivating your account, then click deactivate my account. You may have to enter a security check, enter the letters on the screen and click continue. Your account is now deleted.

You may also want to delete a page you created, to delete a page, look for the following icon at the bottom of your profile.  Click on the "f" to the right of applications, and you will see a list of pages you have created.

Once you have the list of pages, look to the right of the name and click on delete page and follow the prompts.

Twitter - Log into the Twitter account you want to delete. Just with the previous two sites, make note of any people you want follow. You can also send a tweet letting your followers know where to find you. Once you are within the account you want to delete, click on settings. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click delete account. Continue through the process until your account is deleted.